#### EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF NORTH YORKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

## 17 August 2022

## **Appointments to Committees and Outside Bodies**

## Report of the Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services)

#### 1.0 PURPOSE OF THE REPORT

1.1 To enable appointments to Committees and Outside Bodies to be considered.

#### 2.0 BACKGROUND

2.1 At the Annual General Meeting of the Council on 18 May 2022, appointments to committees and Major Outside Bodies were made. Since that time, a number of changes have been proposed, as detailed in this report.

#### 3.0 PENSION FUND COMMITTEE

- 3.1 Councillor Angie Dale (Richmondshire District Council) is nominated for appointment as the substitute for Councillor Patrick Mulligan (Craven District Council) on North Yorkshire Pension Fund Committee. This is for the period ending 31 March 2023.
- 3.2 County Councillor Peter Wilkinson is to come off the Pension Fund Committee and County Councillor Cliff Lunn has been nominated to take his place.

# 4.0 TRANSITION (LGR) OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

4.1 At the meeting of the County Council on 20 July 2022, it was resolved that a new overview and scrutiny committee would be constituted for the period July 2022 to March 2023, whose role and remit is to be scrutiny of significant decisions made by the Executive regarding the creation of the new unitary authority. The nominations for this committee are as detailed in appendix 1.

#### 5.0 RECOMMENDATION

5.1 That County Council approves the above appointments to the Pension Fund Committee and the Transition (LGR) Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

Barry Khan

Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services)

County Hall, Northallerton

8 August 2022

Report Author: Daniel Harry

Background documents: Constitution of North Yorkshire County Council - New Council

Constitutions (northyorks.gov.uk)

# Transition (LGR) Overview and Scrutiny Committee

### 1. Membership

	Councillors Name	Political Group
1	Malcolm Taylor (Chair)	Conservative
2	Nick Brown	Conservative
3	Caroline Dickinson	Conservative
4	Richard Foster	Conservative
5	George Jabbour	Conservative
6	Andrew Lee	Conservative
7	John Mann	Conservative
8	Heather Moorhouse	Conservative
9	Clive Pearson	Conservative
10	Bryn Griffiths	Liberal Democrat and Liberal
11	Philip Broadbank	Liberal Democrat and Liberal
12	Melanie Davis	Labour
13	John Ritchie	Labour
14	Stuart Parsons	North Yorkshire Independent
15	Kevin Foster	Green Group
16	Kirsty Poskitt	Independent (unaffiliated)

Con	Lib Dem and Lib	Labour	NY Ind	Green	Ind
9	2	2	1	1	1

#### 2. Substitute Members

Conservative		NY	NY Independents		
1		1			
2		2			
Labour		Lib	Liberal Democrat and Liberal		
1	Liz Colling	1	Pat Marsh		
2	Steve Shaw-Wright	2	Chris Aldred		
Gre	Green Party				
1					
2					

Note – this committee is only constituted through to 31 March 2023.